
Guidelines for Arson Investigator Certification & Training

I. Law Enforcement Selection 
Select members of the       Fire Department will receive additional training and certification as a Class I or a Class III (Limited Duty) law enforcement officer.  The following shall outline the general selection and process:
1. The       Fire Department will identify the appropriate staff and number of personnel needed to support the operation and will consult with the Fire Chief.  The Fire Chief will forward the names and resumes of the selected members to the Police Chief/Sheriff for consideration as Class I or Class III officers.  All such members must be full-time, paid employees of the State of South Carolina or any of its political subdivisions and must be regularly on the payroll.

2. All staff members submitted for consideration for Class I or Class III law enforcement certification must have successfully completed an eighty (80) hour basic fire investigation course.
3. Members selected for the Class I or Class III program will be subject to the background investigation necessary for that certification level by the        FORMDROPDOWN 
. 

4. Upon confirmation that the background investigation necessary for that certification level has been successfully passed, all documentation required by the SC Criminal Justice Academy must be completed and prepared for submission.  For Class I Officers, that documentation includes: Application for Basic Law Enforcement Training Class, Medical History Form, Document Attestation Form (various elements in the employees file), Attestation of Criminal History Check.  For Class III (Limited Duty) Officers, that documentation includes: Application for the Limited Duty Basic Class, Medical History Form, Document Attestation Form (various elements in the employees file), Attestation of Criminal History Check, Two completed fingerprint cards, Firearm Qualifications Form, and Emergency Vehicle Operation Policy Form.  
5. Selected employee(s) will be scheduled for the appropriate course (12 week Basic Law for class 1) and, for Class III Officers (66 hours Limited Duty Officer Training), the needed preparation for the Firearm Qualification will be completed in advance of the class and maintained by the commissioning agency. 
6. The       Fire Department must pay the South Carolina Criminal Justice Academy the cost of providing the certification training requested.  This payment must be made prior to the selected employee(s) attending training at the CJA.

a. Should the selected employee(s) fail to successfully complete their training, they may be admitted one (1) additional time (recycled) to try and successfully complete training.  No additional fee shall be required from the       Fire Department unless there is increased cost to the CJA for this recycle.  

b. Should the selected employee(s) fail a second time to successfully complete their training, they may not be admitted for any additional training at the CJA until a period of one (1) year has passed from the date of the second failure.  Should the selected employee(s) return for training at the CJA after one (1) year has passed from the date of their second failure, the entire process of training and certification with the CJA will begin again, as if the selected employee(s) has never attended any training at the CJA, including, but not limited to,       Fire Department paying the CJA for the cost of the certification training requested. 

c. In the case of a second failure, no portion of the fees originally paid to the CJA will be refunded to the       Fire Department.
7. Upon successful completion of Class I or Class III law enforcement training, the selected employee shall be issued their law enforcement commission by the  FORMDROPDOWN 
 of        FORMDROPDOWN 
.
8. For Class III fire and/or arson investigators, all law enforcement duties shall be limited.    

II. Continuing Education Training

1. Members of the       Fire Department who become certified as Class I or Class III law enforcement officers shall meet all the continuing education requirements for their certification as outlined by the CJA.  
2. The        FORMDROPDOWN 
 shall be responsible for providing all required continuing education training, that is not available directly from CJA, for the fire and/or arson investigators.  
3. The        FORMDROPDOWN 
 shall be responsible for filing all required documents with CJA regarding the fire and/or arson investigator’s certification.  For example, PCS Reports, MRN Reports, etc…

4. Fire and/or arson investigators are encouraged to identify additional training and education that will further benefit their specific investigative skills and knowledge.  
5. If a fire and/or arson investigator attends advanced training at CJA, the       Fire Department must pay the CJA the cost of providing the advanced training requested.  This payment must be made prior to the selected employee(s) attending the advanced training at the CJA.  In the case of a failure to successfully complete the advanced training, no portion of the fees paid to the CJA will be refunded to the       Fire Department.
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